Child of 12


What has this life done to you
dear child of 12?
Why does the cutting not release your tongue?
I hate what this life has done

I’m sorry your parents are still children
I’m sorry you’re forced to grow up

What has this life done to you
dear child of 12?
Why drugs to help your plight?
You’ve grown too weak to fight?

I’m sorry you’re feeling this pain
I know you want the sun
but instead you get the rain

Come into my arms and weep on my shoulder
I’ll hold you for as long as I can
I’ll fight this war with you
Together we’ll see it through

You’re 12 not 48
I know it’s not too late

About notjeffery

Out the box but stuck... View all posts by notjeffery

3 responses to “Child of 12

  • Jingle

    You are represented as fresh poets to explore, yet not a participant until you place your entry in…
    You are invited to attend poets rally week 34, read the agreement and place your link in when you are ready, have fun! Poetry awards are given upon participation on or by Sunday.
    Happy Friday!

  • Jingle

    wow,
    powerful piece.
    love those questions and wonders…
    keep sharpening your thinking by writing like this.

    I would love to have you in poets rally week 33.
    let me know by leaving a link under my post.
    Thanks a ton.
    You are quite productive.
    beautiful poem!

  • 2zpoint

    Some very serious subject matter. I hope all is well. It must be torturous to witness such things or to even think of them. Prayer be with you as you do what you can.

Leave a Reply

