Wish Away


I wish I could write something special
Something inspired, something rousing
I wish I could write a stairway to heaven
I wish I could write an escape from hell
I sometimes think I’m the person that knows
I sometimes think I’m the one without woes
I wish I was so special that I didn’t have to wish

I wish I could dig myself up out of this hole
Too long have I sat in this sprawl,
Too long have I pondered the whereabouts of my muse
Did I ever have one? Where is it now if I did?
Am I destined to be a bore? I get jaded in my own company
I wish I could write like a true poet
I wish I could feel their sense of anguish, their sense of joy
But I’m stuck with being inapt for even Freud

About notjeffery

Out the box but stuck... View all posts by notjeffery

Leave a Reply

