Bringing Up the Future


And my heart broke
As I saw you in your past
As I saw what you were
And what you are now

And inside I wept
As I saw your innocence
And how it has since passed

And I grew overwhelmed
As the pain of realisation stained me
As I saw how helpless as a child I was
And how useless your parents were

And inside I grew bitter
I grew tired and distressed
I grew cold and scheming
I grew a deeper understanding
Of a task needing completion

The task of bringing up the future

About notjeffery

Out the box but stuck... View all posts by notjeffery

Leave a Reply

